Do Brides Watch Their Wedding Films?

When I meet with brides who are wanting to inquire about a wedding film, one of the most common comments I hear is “I don’t think I would ever watch the wedding video more then once or twice.  Why would I want to spend the money on a video that I’m only going to watch once?”  In all honesty, I thought the same thing more then 25 years ago when I first got married.  I thought who in the world would want to have their wedding day on video or film.  I thought like most others, that photos would be more then enough.  That was 25 years ago.  So what changed for me?

At the wedding of my first wife, we had a photographer who was a “friend or a friend”.  I never met him or talked to him before the wedding.  He took a lot of photos that day and was a very nice guy from what I can remember of him from 25 years ago.  After the wedding, we never heard from him or saw him again.  The only photos from that day was the ones taken by family members and they were not very good.  But, an uncle of my then wife set up a video camera and videoed our wedding.  I didn’t like the idea at the time, but it is now one of my most treasured items from my first wife.  You see, my first wife died 3 years ago.

One of the many reasons why I love what I do, capturing weddings of couples every weekend, so that they can have something they can go back and look at over time.  But in reality, how often to they really watch their wedding film if ever?   I can’t really tell you that they watch it “X” number of times each year.  That would be easy.   I can tell you that most will watch it again on the wedding anniversary each year.  It’s a great way to feel like you’ve gotten married all over again each year.

That’s not always the case.  Every now and then I get a message from a former bride and groom who tell me that they just watched their wedding and how much they enjoyed doing so again.  Today was one of those out of the box cases.  One of those times when I hear from a former bride and it makes me feel good about what I do and the gift I give to each couple.

 

Kristy Royer was a bride of mine back in August of 2015.  Shortly after her wedding, she and her groom moved to SC for his job.  This morning she posted on her Facebook page about watching her wedding film last night, here is the post:

img_2498

In several comments she talks about the toast a bridesmaid did, how funny it was and how special it was for her.   She had a great day at work and was sore from a workout she had that day, but this is what made her day even better.  She just decided to sit down and watch her wedding film all over again.  I asked her why, she told me she does so several times a year, just to laugh and feel good about her relationship and to remember what an amazing and beautiful day she had.

 

Do you want to remember what a beautiful and amazing wedding day you had?  Don’t you want to see your wedding as your guest saw it?  Be that fly on the wall as you see all your planning and work unfold into your dream wedding day?  Of course you do.  Midnight Magic Studios can capture your day with full motion and sound.  Here is a trailer for Kristy’s wedding day.  Contact us today to schedule your wedding day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

